WHAT WE STRIVE FOR:

"We want every peep at the till to be a signal for a healthier, greener world."

How to do it

We believe that positive consumption is possible. In our new Impact Report, we show you what we are doing to achieve this and where we can do even better. From the cocoa beans to our production and the reforestation project.

WHAT WE DO:

We're looking for levers,
to ensure healthy eating
and a sustainable lifestyle
as many people as possible
to simplify.

WHAT'S HAPPENED SO FAR:

2016

By engineers
to Chocolatiers.

We, Mathias, Thomas and Christian are fully on course for a career in engineering. Until we want to counteract the sugary and artificial snacks in the library with a chocolate do-it-yourself set in our shared kitchen...

2017

Then do
...we do it ourselves.

Our recipe is innovative. "Genius" we say, "naive" the chocolate makers. Too many hemp seeds & nuts. Compromises on the product are not an option - so we open our own factory in Dresden. Right from the start we focus on organic and a plastic-free packaging - at that time with a cumbersome (but fancy!) cardboard case due to a lack of alternatives.

2018

Off green
becomes climate-positive.

The first year is over - we gain a foothold in the first organic food stores. We can no longer cope with the production and finally find a partner in Germany. Even more importantly, we are entering into a partnership with Eden Projects and are anchoring the "1 product = 1 tree" principle in our business model.

2019

From nucao to
the nu company.

The team is growing - and so is the product range. In a crazy crowdfunding campaign, we win a shelf listing with dm with our half-finished product nupro. The lighthouse nucao gets competition and we enter new dimensions of delivery quantities.

2020

Go big
or go home.

We are finally realising that a lot has happened in recent years - but not in the food industry. We postulate our goal of 1 billion trees by 2030 and go on the offensive - with more products, larger partners and a motivated team of now over 50 people.

More about us.

Mangrove forest

You want all the details on the mission?

impact report
Team picture at tree planting

Be part of the team.

Job advertisements
Poster in subway station

Follow our campaign.

About the campaign

WONACH WIR STREBEN:

“Wir wollen, dass jedes Piepen an der Kasse zu einem Signal für eine gesündere und grünere Welt wird.”

Wie das gehen soll

Wir glauben, dass positiver Konsum möglich ist. In unserem neuen Impact Report zeigen wir dir, was wir dafür tun und wo wir noch besser werden können. Von den Kakaobohnen über unsere Produktion bis zum Aufforstungsprojekt.

WAS WIR TUN:

Wir suchen nach Hebeln,
um gesunde Ernährung
und einen nachhaltigen Lebensstil
möglichst vielen Menschen
zu vereinfachen.

WAS BISHER GESCHAH:

2016

Von Ingenieuren
zu Chocolatiers.

Wir, Mathias, Thomas und Christian sind voll auf Kurs in Richtung Ingenieurskarriere. Bis wir in unserer WG-Küche mit einem Schokoladen-Do-It-Yourself-Set den überzuckerten und künstlichen Snacks in der Bibliothek etwas entgegensetzen wollen…

2017

Dann machen
wir’s halt selbst.

Unser Rezept ist neuartig. “Genial” sagen wir, “Naiv” die Schokoladenhersteller. Zu viele Hanfsamen & Nüsse. Kompromisse am Produkt sind keine Option – also eröffnen wir in Dresden unsere eigene Manufaktur. Von Anfang an setzen wir auf Bio und eine plastikfreie Verpackung – damals noch mangels Alternativen mit einem umständlichen (aber schicken!) Papp-Etui.

2018

Aus grün
wird klimapositiv.

Das erste Jahr ist überstanden – wir fassen in den ersten Bioläden Fuß. Die Produktion können wir nicht weiter stemmen und finden endlich einen Partner in Deutschland. Noch viel wichtiger: Wir schließen die Partnerschaft mit Eden Projects und verankern das “1 Produkt = 1 Baum” Prinzip in unserem Geschäftsmodell.

2019

Aus nucao wird
the nu company.

Das Team wächst – und das Sortiment gleich mit. In einem Wahnsinns-Crowdfunding Kampagne gewinnen wir mit unserem bis dato halb-fertigen Produkt nupro eine Regallistung bei dm. Der Leuchtturm nucao kriegt Konkurrenz und wir stoßen in neue Liefermengen-Dimensionen vor.

2020

Go big
or go home.

Wir realisieren endgültig, dass sich in den letzten Jahren zwar bei uns viel getan hat – nicht aber in der Lebensmittelindustrie. Wir postulieren unser Ziel von 1 Milliarde Bäumen bis 2030 und gehen in die Offensive – mit mehr Produkten, größeren Partnern und einem motivierten Team von mittlerweile über 50 Menschen.

Mehr über uns.

Mangrovenwald

Du willst alle Details zur Mission?

Impact Report
Teambild beim Bäumepflanzen

Werde Teil des Teams.

Stellenanzeigen
Plakat in Ubahn-Station

Verfolge unsere Kampagne.

Zur Kampagne